Vessel

Devised by Damien Jalet and Kohei Nawa , the project of Vessel started during a common residency at Villa Kujoyama in Kyoto in 2015 and comes from a shared desire to create a symbiotic work between sculpture and choreography, where it becomes impossible to separate one from the other. Taking as a starting point the contradictions of the body, between regeneration and decay, between solid and liquid, between anatomy and mythology, they created, with a group of seven dancers, a captivating and visually stunning work scored by composer Marihiko Hara.

Kohei Nawa explores materials and techniques through his sculptures and installations that communicate an organic world view while successfully combining image and materiality.

Damien Jalet has travelled the world, infusing his dance with images of the myths, religions, and rituals of each country that he visits, and reflecting the conflict between body and mind in the dance.

As the basic concept for this part of their collaborative project, Nawa and Jalet chose “vessel”—the background to everything that is subsumed by life and death, and the cycles of earth and life. Incorporating into the stage design a breadth of physical properties that extends to gases, liquids, and solids, they attempt to create a dynamic merger between the stage and the bodies of the dancers as they constantly transform their figures.

The distinctive “headless” poses hide the head, conferring anonymity by concealing gender and identity and hinting at the existence of some non-human entity. The world view painted by this sculptural dance transcends the genre of performing art, and bears the promise of further extension into different fields.

Choreography
Damien Jalet

Scenography
Kohei Nawa

Music
Marihiko Hara, Ryuichi Sakamoto

Performance
Aimilios Arapoglou, Mirai Moriyama, Nobuyoshi Asai, Jun Morii, Mayumu Minakawa, Ruri Mitoh, Naoko Tozawa

Work in Progress: Jul 2015 at Creative Center Osaka (Japan)

Premiere: Sep 2016 at ROHM Theatre (Kyoto, Japan)

Upcoming dates / Past dates

Vessel

Né durant une résidence commune à la Villa Kujoyama à Kyoto en 2015, Vessel est un projet des deux artistes de créer une œuvre fusionnelle entre sculpture et chorégraphie, où il devient impossible de les dissocier. Prenant comme point de départ les contradictions du corps, entre régénération et détérioration, entre solide et liquide, entre anatomie et mythologie, ils créent, avec un groupe de 7 danseurs, une pièce fascinante sur une composition originale de Marihiko Hara.

Damien a parcouru le monde, infusé sa danse avec des images des mythes, des religions et des rituels de chaque pays qu’il visite et reflète le conflit entre le corps et l’esprit dans la danse. Kohei Nawa explore les matériaux et les techniques à travers ses sculptures et ses installations qui communiquent une vision du monde organique tout en combinant avec succès l’image et la matérialité.

Intégrant dans la conception de la scénographie une large gamme de propriétés physiques qui s’étendent aux gaz, aux liquides et aux solides, ils tentent de créer une fusion dynamique entre le plateau et les corps des danseurs. Les poses distinctives «sans tête» cachent les visages, conférant l’anonymat en dissimulant le genre et l’identité et en insinuant l’existence d’une entité non humaine. La vue du monde peinte par cette danse sculpturale transcende les disciplines artistiques.

Choreographie
Damien Jalet

Scenographie
Kohei Nawa

Composition musicale
Marihiko Hara, Ryuichi Sakamoto

Danseurs
Aimilios Arapoglou, Mirai Moriyama, Nobuyoshi Asai, Jun Morii, Mayumu Minakawa, Ruri Mitoh, Naoko Tozawa

Premiere: Sep 2016 at ROHM Theatre (Kyoto, Japan)

Dates