Borderline

Compagnie Wang Ramirez

Borderline marks a turning point in Sébastien Ramirez and Honji Wang’s research and choreographic language. The dance expands in a dialogue between technique and the art of rigging, while the reflection on human relationships now includes the reality of living together in our democracies. Social boundaries are evoked by the interplay of physical forces on the stage as well as through testimonies – collected from the dancers’ friends and relatives, or from the media, and broadcasted in voice over.

The rigging element, a scenic tool notorious as Deus Ex Machina in the Greek tragedy, allows us to approach weightlessness to create a timeless poetics. In the interaction with the rigger, the body becomes the object of a “weight game”, of balance and freedom. Attached to cables, the five dancers bring to light and transpose the desire of freedom inherent in all forms of dance, especially Hip Hop. With a wealth of experience in levitation, Hip Hop discovers new ways to thwart gravity in its virtuosity of footwork.

The gestures and the costumes create images that reflect Greek and Korean traditions in animality, as well as in our desires and angsts. Between the promise of freedom and the violence of keeping our bodies on the ground, is a space allowing the invention of a new gestural approach. With great fluidity, the piece displays accents of acrobatics, visual poetry and the urban universe. It extends to the ground where the gravitational borderlines shift horizontally, in a mobile scenography that continues to evolve throughout the performance.

Artistic direction & choreography: Honji Wang & Sébastien Ramirez

Performers: Mehdi Baki or Sébastien Ramirez, Louis Becker, Johanna Faye, Joy Alpuerto Ritter or Honji Wang, Kai Gaedtke, Saïdo Lehlouh

Rigging development: Jason Oettlé and Kai Gaedtke

Composition: Jean-Philippe Barrios
 with the participation of: Christophe Isselee
 and the voices of: Chung-Won Wang and Henri Ramirez

Light design: Cyril Mulon

Dramaturgical collaboration: Catherine Umbdenstock

Set design: Paul Bauer

Costume realization: Anna Ramirez

Co-production
Théâtre de l’Archipel, scène nationale de Perpignan (in the frame of a creation residency)
Théâtre de la Ville, Paris
Parc de La Villette, Paris ; Initiatives d’Artistes en Danses Urbaines (Fondation de France – Parc de la Villette with the support of Caisse des Dépôts and Acsé) ; Mercat de les Flors Barcelone (in the frame of creation residencies at Graner) ; Act’art – Conseil général de Seine-et-Marne
Centre Chorégraphique National de Créteil et du Val-de-Marne / Company Käfig
TANZtheater INTERNATIONAL, Hannover

Support
Regional council Occitanie / Pyrénées-Méditerranée Regional Cultural Affairs Directorate Occitanie County council Pyrénées Orientales

Dates

Nov 7, 2019
Ottowa, Canada
Nov 8, 2019
Ottowa, Canada
Nov 21, 2019
Karlsruhe, Deutschland

Borderline

Compagnie Wang Ramirez

Borderline marque un tournant dans les recherches et l’écriture de Sébastien Ramirez et Honji Wang. La danse s’élargit dans un dialogue avec la technique et l’art du gréage (rigging), alors que la réflexion sur les relations humaines inclut désormais la réalité du vivre-ensemble dans nos démocraties. Les frontières sociétales sont évoquées à la fois par le jeu des forces physiques sur le plateau et par des témoignages – recueillis par les danseurs auprès de leurs proches ou encore issus des médias – diffusés en voix off.

Le gréage, outil scénique connu depuis le Deus ex machina de la tragédie grecque, permet d’approcher l’apesanteur pour créer une poétique intemporelle. Dans l’interaction avec le gréeur, le corps devient l’objet d’un jeu autour du poids, de l’équilibre et de la liberté. Attachés à des câbles, les cinq danseurs révèlent et transposent le désir de liberté inhérent à toute danse, et en particulier au Hip Hop. Fort de cette expérience de lévitation, le Hip Hop découvre de nouvelles manières de déjouer la gravité dans la virtuosité du footwork.

La gestuelle et les costumes créent des images qui renvoient aux traditions grecques et coréennes autant qu’à l’animalité, à nos désirs et angoisses. Entre la promesse de liberté et la violence retenant les corps au sol, s’ouvre un espace qui permet l’invention d’une gestuelle nouvelle. D’une grande fluidité, elle arbore des accents d’acrobatie, de poésie visuelle et de l’univers urbain. Elle se prolonge au sol où les borderlines gravitationnelles basculent dans l’horizontale, dans une scénographie mobile qui ne cesse d’évoluer au cours du spectacle.

Direction artistique et chorégraphie : Honji Wang et Sébastien Ramirez

Interprétation : Mehdi Baki ou Sébastien Ramirez, Louis Becker, Johanna Faye, Joy Alpuerto Ritter ou Honji Wang, Kai Gaedtke, Saïdo Lehlouh

Développement gréage : Jason Oettlé et Kai Gaedtke

Composition : Jean-Philippe Barrios
avec la participation de : Christophe Isselee
et les voix de : Chung-Won Wang et Henri Ramirez

Création lumière : Cyril Mulon

Collaboration dramaturgie : Catherine Umbdenstock

Scénographie : Paul Bauer

Réalisation costumes : Anna Ramirez

Coproduction
Théâtre de l’Archipel, scène nationale de Perpignan (dans le cadre d’un accueil en résidence de création) Théâtre de la Ville, Paris
Parc de La Villette, Paris ; Initiatives d’Artistes en Danses Urbaines (Fondation de France – Parc de la Villette avec le soutien de la Caisse des Dépôts et l’Acsé) ;Mercat de les Flors (dans le cadre de résidences de création au Graner, Barcelone) ; Act’art – Conseil général de Seine-et-Marne Centre Chorégraphique National de Créteil et du Val-de-Marne / Compagnie Käfig
TANZtheater INTERNATIONAL, Hanovre

Soutien
Conseil régional Languedoc-Roussillon
Direction régionale des affaires culturelles Occitanie Conseil départemental des Pyrénées Orientales

Dates

7 nov. 2019
Ottowa, Canada
8 nov. 2019
Ottowa, Canada
21 nov. 2019
Karlsruhe, Deutschland